Why Ayurveda Ayursutra Traditional Therapies Ashtanga Ayurveda Ashtanga Yoga Ayur TourDiseases we Treat FAQs


Ayurveda is derived from the Sanskrit words, ‘Ayu’ means “life or daily living”, and ‘Veda’ means “knowing or science”. Thus Ayurveda is “Science of Life”.  It is the oldest and the most holistic medical system which came into existence in its written form over 5000 years ago. VedaVyasa, the famous sage and shaktavesha avatar of Vishnu wrote the complete knowledge of Ayurveda along with the spiritual insights of self-realization. According to him, Life is a combination of senses, mind, body and soul. Ayurveda considers the physical, mental and spiritual well being of a person to become healthy.

Ayurveda defines ‘svestha’ (Well being / True health) as harmonious state of Tri - doshas, as the proper alignment of body, senses, mind and soul. Ayurveda treats the disease and not the symptom. Treating the symptoms gives temporary relief. The underlying cause is treated by Ayurveda. An alternate and more precise reading would be the knowledge of life span.

Ayurveda is a science of the individual. Everybody is unique and the doshas are displayed in your own way. The ratios of the doshas in your constitution and the qualities expressed by it are as unique to every individual as finger prints. The different level of doshas reflects characteristic tendencies and susceptibility to illness. 

An experienced Ayurvedic practitioner will be able to diagnose the different doshas and can offer guidance to bring a balance in the system.

Ayurveda is basically divided into Eight Sections called ASHTANGA AYURVEDA.

  1. Kaya Chikitsa - Internal Medicine (General Medicine)
    Kayachikitsa Tantra: Kaya means living human body (body and mind). This treatment includes all diseases situated in the body.
  2. Shalya Tantra (Sallya chikitsa) - Surgery
    It describes about pre-operative procedures, general procedures, post-operative procedures, anesthesia and marmas (vital points). It also describes about bandages, shastra (sharp instruments), yantras (blunt instruments) and sutures (stitches).
  3. Shalakya Tantra (Oordhwanga chikitsa) Ears, Eyes, Nose and Throat
    It’s a division of otorhinolaryngology (ENT) and ophthalmology.
  4. Kaumarabhritya Tantra (Bala chikitsa) - Pediatrics 
    It deals with health and diseases related to children.
  5. Agada Tantra (Dhanshra chikitsa) Toxicology 
    It deals with food poisoning, snake bites, insect bites, dog bites etc.
  6. Bajikarana /Vajikarana (Vrisha chikitsa) Purification of the Genetic Organs 
    It deals with male and female genetic organs.
  7. Rasayana Tantra (Jaya chikitsa) Health and Longevity 
    It promotes long life and good health. It deals with old age problems and poor immunity.
  8. Bhuta Vidya (Graha chikitsa) Spiritual Healing/Psychiatry 
    It deals with spiritual healing.



Name: *
Phone *
City *
E-mail: *